孙修顺以诚赢天下

孙修顺 以诚赢天下

 

修身、齐家、治企、赢天下,这是对孙修顺最好的概括。这位新加坡儒商企业家,白手起家,脚踏实地,不仅建立了全球最大的铝土矿出口平台,开辟了一条几内亚至中国海岬型船铝土矿海运航线,还改变了几内亚当地的经济和社会面貌,因贡献卓越被几内亚政府和新加坡政府共同委任为几驻新名誉领事。不过对于这些成就和名望,孙修顺却谦虚地表示:“造福国家和社会靠大家努力,我们仅仅是做了些力所能及的事情。”

 

 

西非国家几内亚(Guinea),博凯省(Boké Prefecture),骄阳似火,热浪袭人。铝土矿采运巨头赢联盟(Le consortium SMB Winning)的大礼堂里,身材魁梧的孙修顺总指挥洪亮的声音回荡,他正在作一场慷慨激昂的演讲,台下密密麻麻的员工,目光中都充满着敬意。

 

演讲主题很简单,就是如何实现共赢,“我相信,我们每位赢联盟员工,无论种族和背景,大家的心是相通,那就是‘尊重’、‘团结’和‘交流’,这样我们才能共同‘发展’!”孙修顺这句饱含赤诚的话语让现场顿时掌声雷动,欢呼声阵阵。

 

随时倾听员工的心声

 

这样激动人心,诚意满满的演讲,孙总每次去几内亚视察都要亲自做。新加坡到几内亚没有直航,要先从新加坡飞巴黎(Paris),再从巴黎飞几内亚,路上马不停蹄地几乎要飞上一天!演讲完后,孙修顺还要亲自和工会领导以及员工管理层一起亲密无间同桌吃饭,联络感情。

 

“我想传递的是一种信息,老板尊重员工,愿意倾听他们的声音,我也想让中方员工看到与当地员工交流是一种正常行为,不要心有排斥。尽管相互之间语言不通,但来个善意的眼神交流,握握手,拍拍肩也是可以实现的,大家要有情感上的交流,这样才能实现有机的管理和互动,团队才可以实现整体协作!”

 

目前赢联盟整个矿区的雇员有上万人,工程车辆700多台,卡车司机和挖掘机操作手都是聘用的当地人,中方员工主要完成大型设备的维修保养,以及现场管理和培训工作。

 

其实,无论是孙修顺之前一手创立的韦立集团(Winning Group),还是现在合资创办的赢联盟,企业的治理都体现出一个“共赢”的思想,及各方:资方、劳方、社会、国家和国际,都要享受到企业经营活动带来的红利,赢了人心,自然赢了天下。

 

“我们拨款设立专项基金,专门为员工设立了‘赢联盟和平奖’,按月度,按季度和年度为员工发放津贴,以保证生产流程的不间断运转,因为停工对各方都没有任何好处。另一方面,我们在企业内部设立了调解办公室,员工有什么诉求,可以来办公室协调解决。”孙修顺介绍说。

 

“其实企业管理没有什么神秘的地方,第一就是要有一颗对员工的赤诚之心,第二就是要做到‘共赢’,让大家都从中受益。”话语质朴,掷地有声。这两点,他都做到了。

 

几内亚的经济驱动引擎

 

在几内亚首都科纳克里(Conakry)国际机场,各处的大屏幕都在滚动播放有关赢联盟的新闻。从某种程度上说,正是赢联盟的这个铝土矿项目,将几内亚从埃博拉病毒(Ebola Virus)造成的经济衰退中拯救出来。

 

据联合国商品贸易数据库的统计,2016年世界铝土矿的出口总量为5178万吨,占世界产量的27%,其中澳大利亚、几内亚、马来西亚出口量居前三,几内亚、澳大利亚、巴西是铝土矿可采储量排名前三的国家,合计可采储量占全球的58%左右。

 

2016年,澳大利亚仍是中国最大铝土矿供应国,其出口量约为2130万吨,同比上升8.81%,占中国总进口量的41.1%。力拓(Rio Tinto Group)公布,2016年铝土矿产量为4770万吨。其次是几内亚,供应量为1190万吨,同比大幅上升,占中国总进口量的23%2016年,几内亚铝土矿主要出口至魏桥铝业。今年,赢联盟将出口2000万吨铝土矿,成为世界第一大的铝土矿供应企业。

 

“雨季过后,到了10月份,我们每个月将出矿350万吨,按18万吨一条船来算,相当于每1.2天就有一艘船离港,几内亚到中国的航线上每隔400多海里就有一条我们的船。”    

 

赢联盟是几内亚铝土矿开发有史以来的超级企业,除了每年为几内亚国库缴纳几千万美元的资源出口税,还解决了矿区当地150个村庄直接或间接60%70%的人口的就业,几乎每个家庭都有亲属在赢联盟上班,不仅如此,甚至几内亚其他地区的居民也到赢联盟来就业,目前整个几内亚全国的司机都不够用了!还要从别的国家聘请司机!

 

赢联盟项目作为几内亚当地最大的经济投资项目,同时获得了国际货币基金组织(IMF)和世界银行(WB)嘉奖,其为几内亚的GDP增长作出了巨大的贡献。

 

在此之前,几内亚无法偿还的国债,因为赢联盟的纳税贡献,现在已经可以逐步偿还,国家的财政又开始恢复了健康,在国际货币基金组织的信用评级得到提升——更重要的是,几内亚和她的人民都加入到了全球化中来,为今后发展奠定基础,并获得技术和资金。

 

对于自己为几内亚做出的贡献,孙修顺表现得非常谦虚:“其实,我做的事情也没这么伟大,没有孙修顺,也会有王修顺,李修顺来做同样的事情。”

 

就取得的商业成就,他也分享了自己的心得:“首先是中国有需求,几内亚和中国之间有很强的互补性,海运市场目前价格比较低,几内亚铝土矿的品位比较高,性价比高,具有竞争优势,埃博拉病毒对几内亚的经济造成严重的损害,迫切地希望能够出口资源,让经济恢复活力。同时我们也做了些创新,比如内河驳船转运,海上浮吊作业,节省了投资建深水港码头的巨大成本,充分地把海运物流体系的效用发挥出来了。”

 

满满干货,绝无虚言,这就是孙修顺。

 

承担企业责任造福社区

 

第一次考察矿区的时候,坑坑洼洼的孔克坎博凯(Konkokan -Boké)公路让孙总亲自领教了一场“非洲越野拉力赛”,短短16公里的路程,简直就是一场对汽车性能和乘客忍耐力的极限考验。

 

“我后来对当地居民说,一定要把这条路修了。哪怕还没有经过赢联盟管理层的集体讨论,我自己掏腰包也要把这个承诺实现了,以体现我们赢联盟对当地社会发展作出的实际支持。”

 

今年5月,筑路项目正式启动,将耗资600多万美元,7米宽的道路全部硬化,规格和质量均超过几内亚国家的主干道。此外,赢联盟还捐资15万美元修建104米横跨巴塔丰(Batafong)河的科里拉(Khorira)大桥;10万美元修建回教堂,算起来,赢联盟向本地社区支付的经济红利,金额已经上千万美元。

 

“我们还为当地的每个村子都打井,安装太阳能发电设备。并设立和平奖,奖励是大米和食用油。如果每个季度没有出现治安事件,每个村民就可以获得这些奖励,每两三个人就有一袋大米。我们要让当地村民都享受到经济发展带来的实惠,”介绍到这里时,孙修顺笑得很开心。

 

“赢联盟”项目向几内亚政府缴纳的采矿税和出口税,今年也将超过1亿美元。在“赢联盟”上班的当地人,都有了400美元以上的稳定月薪,纷纷盖起了砖木混合结构的房屋,买上了摩托车。“员工告诉我,他们的要求也不高,就是想过上普通中国人的生活。”孙修顺表示当地员工都有追求现代化的幸福生活的想法,赢联盟尽量帮助他们圆梦。

 

目前赢联盟正在逐步有序地为员工修建各种福利和培训设施,一个驾校也也在筹备之中。孙总对于解决当地性别平等的问题也十分关心,他让当地妇女参与到矿石采区的生态植被恢复项目中来,培训她们种植经济作物腰果,一天可以收入几美金,这样她们在经济上获得一定程度的独立。

 

因为赢联盟铝土矿项目的带动,现在整个博凯地区的经济生态初具规模,呈现一片繁荣,第三产业蓬勃发展,“我们的船员去菜市采购,可以一下把整个市场买空!”此外,为了满足施工人员的日常消费,各种服务行业,像住宿餐饮酒吧和发廊都应运而生,在为几内亚解决了更多的就业岗位的同时提供了更多的税收来源。

 

“我还希望在博凯地区建一间平价医院,让当地人花点小钱就看得起病。”孙总说,做慈善要讲方法,如果是一味地免费,当地人也无法建立起责任感和进取意识。

 

赢联盟这样诚心诚意地为当地社区服务,让其竞争对手备感压力巨大。

 

让新加坡再次连接世界

 

截至目前,“赢联盟”在几内亚的项目投资已累计超过5亿美元,涉及矿上和两个内河港口及连接道路、桥梁等。

 

博凯内港两个港区,一港区建设的4个泊位,目前全部竣工投入运营。二港区3个泊位已具备投产条件,其他码头配套设施、运矿道路等正在加紧建设,目前已形成年出口4000万吨铝土矿的能力。更重要的是,赢联盟已经初步建立了当地的铝土矿市场,采购其他矿业公司的现货,并掌握了定价权。

 

“下一步,我们正在和新加坡国际企业发展局(IE Singapore)和盛邦裕廊(Surbana Jurong)合作,准备建一个经济特区,在做好基础设施后面向全球招商引资。如果经济规模可以支撑的话,我还计划修建一条从矿区到博凯港区150公里长的铁路。机场、保税区、物流中心也都是未来蓝图的一部分。”

 

“今后也我们也准备和非洲银行合作,搞一些房地产项目,公司提供担保贷款,让企业员工住进公寓楼,提前享受现代生活,让我们员工的福利更有保障,这样企业人员结构更稳定。我们或许还要兴建学校,培养更多技能型人才,有可能我也想送这些娃娃去中国留学。”

 

去年,孙修顺被几内亚政府和新加坡政府共同委任为几驻新名誉领事(Honorary Consul),这在新加坡新移民中是前无古人的,这项任命不仅表彰了孙总对新几关系作出的贡献,也体现了两国政府对孙总的高度认可和信任,对于一位企业家而言,这样的殊荣是非常崇高的和具有历史性意义的。

 

“我计划设立一个奖学金,资助一些几内亚的官员来南洋理工大学(Nanyang Technological University)接受培训,在提高他们的治理水平的同时,也将新加坡的软实力传播到非洲。”

 

不过,对于自己已经完成的伟业和未来将实施的宏大计划,孙修顺仍以一颗平常心低调对待,“我们做事情讲究踏实,就像我们的货轮,一个航次一万多海里的路程,每一海里都要稳稳驶过。”

 

孙修顺和赢联盟业绩斐然而前路修远,但注定一帆风顺。

 

(这篇文章来自《时代财智》,朗嘉报道)

Sun Xiushun To be the best with Integrity

Sun Xiushun: To be the best with Integrity

 

“Cultivating oneself, regulating the family, governing the enterprise and being the best” can best depict Sun Xiushun, a Singapore-based Confucian businessman, who has developed the world’s largest bauxite export platform, opened an ocean shipping route from Guinea to China for Capesize vessels, and also changed the economic and social presence of local regions in Guinea. Thanks to his excellent contribution, he has been jointly commissioned as the new honorary consul of Guinea in Singapore by the two countries. Regarding these achievements and reputation, Sun Xiushun humbly said, “Contributing to countries and societies are dependent on everyone and what we have done are only what we can do”.

 

In the big hall of Le Consortium SMB Winning, a bauxite mining and transport giant based at Boke Prefecture of Guinea, a West-Africa country in the flaming sun and waves of heat, the strong-built Sun Xiushun was giving an encouraging speech in his resounding voice. Eyes of numerous employees from the audience seats were filled with respect.

 

The speech had a simple theme on how to achieve win-win situation. “I believe that all employees, regardless of race and background, share the same ideas, which are ‘respect’, ‘unity’ and ‘communication’. Only with these will we achieve common development!” The sincere words won thundering applauses from the listeners.

 

Listen to Employees

 

Every time when Sun goes to Guinea, he delivers an exciting and sincere speech like this one. It is not an easy task for him to take a trip to Africa since there is not direct flight between Singapore and Guinea, which requires to take a connecting flight in Paris, consuming almost a whole day without any delay on the way. After the speech, Sun Xiushun always takes a meal with Labour Union’s leaders and the management staff to improve their relationship.

 

 “The message I desire to deliver is the boss respects his employees and is willing to listen them. I also want Chinese employees to realize that communicating with local employees is a normal act and they should not reject it. Despite of the language barrier, communication is possible through a friendly eye contact, hand-shaking or shoulder-patting. All employees need emotional exchanges which are necessary for organic management and interaction, so that the team can achieve overall coordination!”

 

The entire mine area for the Consortium has over 10,000 employees and more than 700 engineering vehicles. All truck drivers and digger operators employed are local people. Chinese employees mainly serve for maintenance of large equipment, site management and training work.

 

In fact, regarding both the Winning Group independently founded by Sun Xiushun and this joint venture Le Consortium SMB Winning, the “win-win” idea is presented in their governance. That is to say, all parties, i.e., investors, labours, the society, the country and the international community, should benefit from the business operation. Winning each party’s support means winning the recognition from the entire world.

 

 “We have allocated special funds to create the “Le Consortium SMB Winning Peace Prize” for employees. With these funds, we grant allowances to employees on a monthly, quarterly and annually basis to ensure that production is conducted smoothly because shutdown cannot bring benefits to any party. What is more, we have founded an internal mediation office where any employee request or dispute can be settled,” according to Sun Xiushun.

 

 “To tell the truth, there is no secret to enterprise governance. In this regard, I hold two points, the first is to be sincere to employees and the second is to achieve win-win that benefits everyone”. Simple words contain deep meanings. And he has managed it on the two points.

 

Guinea’s Economic Engine

 

News about the Consortium broadcasts on each large screen in the Conakry International Airport. To some degree, it is this bauxite project that rescued Guinea from the economic recession caused by Ebola virus.

 

According to statistics from UN Comtrade, the global bauxite export totalled 51.78 million tons in 2016, accounting for 27% of the global output. Export volume from Australia, Guinea and Malaysia ranked the first three. The top three countries in terms of recoverable bauxite reserve are Guinea, Australia and Brazil, contributing to 58% in the world.

 

In 2016, Australia remained the first bauxite supplier for China and exported about 21.30 million tons, a year-over-year growth of 8.81%, accounting for 41.1% of China’s total import. Rio Tinto Group published that it produced 47.70 million tons of bauxite in 2016. Guinea was the second largest bauxite exporter to China, having supplied 11.90 million tons, a great growth compared to the previous year, and taking up 23% of China’s total import. In 2016, Guinea’s bauxite was mainly exported to Weiqiao Aluminium. This year, the Consortium will export over 20 million tons of bauxite and become the world’s largest bauxite supplier.

 

“When it comes to October after the rainy season, we will produce 3.5 million tons each month. Assuming that a vessel carries 180,000 tons, the capacity means one vessel would depart the port every 1.2 days. In other words, one can see our ship every 400 nautical mile along the sea route from Guinea to China. “

 

SMB Winning Consortium is a super enterprise ever since Guinea’s bauxite was developed. Besides the resource export tax of tens of thousands of US dollars paid to Guinea Treasury, the Consortium also solved local employment problem, directly or indirectly, for 60% to 70% population in 150 villages around the mine area. Almost every household has a member working in the Consortium. This is not the end of story. And even residents from other regions of Guinea come to get employed by Consortium. Guinea drivers are in shortage now and the Consortium has to hire drivers from other countries.

 

As the largest investment project in Guinea, Le Consortium SMB Winning has received awards from the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank for its huge contribution to Guinea’ s GDP growth.

 

Before this project was launched, Guinea was unable to repay part of its government debts. Now, thanks to the tax contribution from the Consortium, Guinea government can gradually repay these debts with its national finance recovered and the credit rating from IMF improved. More importantly, Guinea and her people have begun to get involved in globalization. This not only builds a foundation for further development but also helps them obtain technologies and funds.

 

For the great contribution to Guinea, Sun Xiushun keeps humble. “In fact, what I am doing is not so great. Someone else must have done the same thing even if it is not me.”

 

Regarding the business achievements he has made, Sun Xiushun also shared his ideas, “The utmost factor lies in China’s demand. Guinea and China are strongly complementary. Ocean shipping price is now at a low level. Guinea’s bauxite is high in grade, with a competitive advantage. Ebola virus damaged Guinea’s economy and Guinea desires to export resources to recover its economy. Also, we have made some innovations, such as barge transhipments in internal waters and floating cranes working on the sea, which have greatly lowered the cost of constructing deep water port and given full play to the ocean logistics system.

 

All are necessary analyses and no flashy word, this is just the style of Sun Xiushun.

 

Assume Social Responsibility of Corporate to Benefit the Community

 

The first time when he visited the mine area, the bumpy Konkonkan-Boké road gave Sun Xiushun an experience of “Africa Off-Road Rally”. The journey of only 16 kilometres was just made to test the vehicle’s performance and passenger’s endurance.

 

 “Later I told local residents that this road must be renovated. Even if my proposal was not passed in the discussion of Consortium management, I would keep my word with funds out of my own pocket to show our practical support for local development.”

 

The road project was formally commenced in May this year. It will consume over 6 million US dollars to harden the entire 7-meter wide road whose quality and specification would be higher than Guinea’s national road. In addition, the Consortium has donated 150,000 US dollars to construct a 104-meter-long Khorira Bridge spanning over the Batafong River, and 100,000 US dollars to build a mosque. Roughly speaking, the economic bonus paid by the Consortium to local community has exceeded ten million US dollars.

 

 “We have dug wells and installed solar energy generators for each village around the mine area. We have also set up a peace prize with rice and edible oil as bonuses. If no incident endangering public security occurs in a quarter, villagers in the village concerned will receive the bonuses; averagely, every two or three persons can get one bag of rice. We would like to have all local villagers enjoy the bonus from economic growth”. Sun Xiushun smiled happily.

 

The mining tax and export tax paid by Consortium to Guinean government will exceed 100 million US dollars this year. All local residents working in Consortium receive a stable monthly salary of over 400 US dollars. Many of them have built new houses made both of bricks and woods and owned motorcars. “Employees told me that they only desire to live like common Chinese people, without any higher requirement.” Sun Xiushun expressed that local employees dream of pursing modernized happy life and the Consortium will try their best to help them realize the dream.

 

The Consortium is gradually constructing various benefit and training facilities for employees. A driver school is under preparation as well. Sun Xiushun also places emphasis on gender equality issue. Local women are mobilized to participate in the vegetation restoration project in the mine area and trained on how to plant Cashew nuts, a commercial crop. With this skill, each woman can make several dollars one day, which also gives them economic independence to some extent.

 

Driven by the Consortium’s bauxite project, the Boké prefecture’s economic ecosystem has formed and is flourishing, with the service industry blooming. “The vegetable market appeared so small that our seamen could even buy all available vegetables there at one time!” To meet daily consumption needs of construction workers, all kinds of services, like hotel, catering, pubs and hair salons are generated, which provides more job opportunities and more tax sources for Guinea.

 

 “I also hope to build a hospital charging affordable fees in Boké so that local residents can afford to see a doctor.” Sun Xiushun said charity should adopt suitable strategy. Free-of-charge approach cannot help local people establish the sense of responsibility and making progress.

 

The earnest services to local community from Consortium exert great pressure on its competitors.

 

Singapore Connects with the World Again

 

So far, the investment into Guinean projects made by Consortium has exceeded 500 million US dollars, covering the mine, two inland ports, roads and bridges, etc.

 

The Consortium invests in two Boké ports. The four berths constructed for the first port have been completed and put into service. The three berths for the second port are primarily completed while other supporting facilities and roads are under construction. Currently, it has been equipped with the capacity of producing 40 million tons of bauxite each year. More importantly, a local bauxite market has been basically constructed to purchase spot cargos from other mining companies, which helped Consortium control the pricing right.

 

“We are discussing with IE Singapore and Surbana Jurong to establish a special economic zone. After infrastructure facilities are completed, the zone will be open to global investors. If economic size permits, I also plan to build a railway of 150 kilometres from the mine area to Boǐé port. Airport, bonded area and logistics centre are all included in our blueprint for the future.

 

 “We will cooperate with African banks on real estate projects. The Consortium will provide security for bank loans so that employees can live in apartments to enjoy modern life in advance and employees’ benefits will be guaranteed. In this way, our Company can have stable employee system. Perhaps we will also build schools to cultivate more talents. If possible, I want to send these children to study in China. “

 

Last year, Sun Xiushun was jointly commissioned as the new honorary consul of Guinea in Singapore by the two countries, and this is an unprecedented record for immigrants to Singapore. This commission recognizes and appreciates the contribution made by him to Singapore and Guinea relationship and also shows highly trust and recognition from the two countries. For an entrepreneur, this honour is of great and historic value.

 

 “I intend to set up a scholarship to fund some Guinean officials to get trained at Nanyang Technological University, which will help them improve their governance ability and spread the soft strength of Singapore to Africa.”

 

However, for the great achievements obtained and these to be implemented, Sun Xiushun keeps a normal attitude. “What we focus on are solid steps. Just like our vessels, they have to travel each mile steadily to complete the over 10,000 miles of journey. “

 

Despite of the splendid achievements, a long way is still to be travelled by Sun Xiushun and the Consortium. And it destined to be a smooth journey.

 

 (Retrived from Fortune Times, reported by Lang Jia)