从新加坡挺进非洲

从新加坡挺进非

       “欢迎您来几内亚投资,带来资金和技术,最重要的是友谊!总统阿尔法·孔戴(Alpha Condé)紧紧地握住新加坡韦立国际集团(Winning International Group)总裁孙修顺的手说,语气中充满了感激和钦佩,他刚刚从孙修顺手中接过了企业援建的医疗站的钥匙,非洲的骄阳下方圆190个村庄近3000位村民载歌载舞地以最高礼仪来感谢这位新加坡新移民企业家。来自中国,在新加坡成功的孙修顺,正在开拓非洲的铝土矿资源——海运起家,四海一家是对孙修顺最好的写照

记者在韦立位于珊顿道的海景办公室见到孙修顺时,他刚从西非风尘仆仆回来,万里航程让这位典型的山东大汉稍显疲惫,但他的话语中透出的是一位企业家在创业时的兴奋:虽然交通不是很方便,非洲真是块待开发的宝地!孙修顺去一趟非洲确实不容易,新加坡到几内亚(Guinea)没有直航,要先从新加坡飞巴黎(Paris),再从巴黎飞几内亚,路上马不停蹄地几乎要飞上一天!由于非洲的基础设施很差,各国之间没有直航,所以即使从新加坡直飞一个非洲国家转机,在非洲大陆上空也要转一天

      在几内亚创造奇

今年32日,运载首批几内亚建港物资的韦立诚实货轮在烟台港装船完毕并顺利离港前往几内亚,标志着几内亚博凯(Boké)内港码头建设工作全面拉开序幕。该项目由烟台港集团、宏桥投资(香港)有限公司、韦立物流(非洲)公司、博凯矿业(几内亚)公司共同投资建设,其中韦立占股比35%

工程拟建2个铝土矿泊位及配套皮带机装船线与一个重件泊位,设计通过能力可达1000万吨/年。未来3年,可实现铝土矿通过能力3000万吨/年,而这些铝土矿正是通过孙修顺的韦立船队源源不断地运回中国,按照这个设计能力,我们今后每10天就有一艘船到烟台港卸货!烟台港是中国进口铝土矿第一港,2013年吞吐量突破7000万吨,市场份额超过68.5%

从几内亚到烟台港海路距离大约15000公里,为什么要到这么远的地方开矿运矿?记者问到

因为印尼政府从去年限制铝土矿出口,2014年烟台港铝土矿进口量锐减,但市场份额持续上升,达到77.3%。为积极应对印尼限制出口政策,韦立携手、烟台港、魏桥集团组成联合体到几内亚探矿,发现这里的矿源不仅品位高,而且埋层浅,地理位置靠近一条直通大海的内河,运输极为方便,孙修顺指着身后巨大的世界地图说,当然印尼市场我们也没有丢,已经建成了两个冶炼厂,把铝土矿加工成半成品再运到中国去。

几内亚博凯内港码头建设项目是联合体打造全程物流链的关键一环,从2014年末全面驶入快车道。201411月,联合体首批工程人员赴几内亚,开展前期工程测量、勘查等工作;2015年春节期间,8名职工放弃回家团圆,坚守几内亚工作岗位;2015227日,项目建设先遣小组一行6人再次赴几,目前我们有300名中国专业技术人员在现场昼夜施工,他们拿的是相当于国内多三倍薪水,720日,博凯内港码头将具备简易投产条件!孙修顺表示

现在中国政府提出这个一带一路One Belt, One Road)的战略计划,在世界范围内创造了一个前所未有的发展环境,通过与我们有中国背景的合作方齐心协力,我相信韦立可以通过发挥在海运物流中的优势,作出应有的贡献并实现相应的价值,比如这次进军非洲就是一个最好的例子。

作为一家新加坡企业,韦立集团及其参与的联合体在开拓非洲的时候十分注重企业社会责任的担当,以顶层设计的思维模式来构建企业和社区之间的关系。单单博凯港口建设,就将会给当地青年提供3000 余个工作岗位,而且在招聘人员时,将首先考虑博凯地区的当地青年。文首提及的古玛医疗站由韦立联盟港口公司耗资500,000美元援建,占地450平方米,将会配置两间会诊室,一间实验室,两间病房,一间药房,一间休息室,一间分娩室,一间小型外伤急诊室

此时的孙修顺,有一种撒豆成兵的豪迈,我们还会为这里建一个火力发电站,发电用煤,我们从印尼用船捎过去。为了满足我们工作人员的日常生活所需,我们也会用返程的船运百货到几内亚,到时候说不定这里会变成非洲的义乌。孙修顺的大手笔赢得了几内亚总统阿尔法·孔戴的高度赞赏:此举创建了一种真正一流的矿业开采模式,在几内亚,这是史无前例的

      从海员到孙

孙修顺在航运界展露头角的时间虽然只有十多年,但已经赢得了业界的认可,他是少数在这么短的时间能够把生意做到这个规模的老板!”2002年韦立航运在香港成立,为氧化铝生产企业进口资源提供海运物流服务。更加贴近印度尼西亚矿山企业,为中国与印度尼西亚企业搭建联系,2006年韦立航运移师新加坡,提供综合物流方案。2010年韦立国际集团在新加坡正式成立,整合韦立航运租船、船东、船舶管理、资源开发、贸易服务等核心业务

上世纪80年代,年仅20岁的孙修顺才刚刚从中国南京海员学校船舶驾驶专业毕业,被分配到青岛远洋运输公司工作。他在船舶和海上工作了8年,而就是这8年砥砺了孙修顺的意志,水手岗的各种职责,孙修顺都做得最棒,一起毕业上船的水手同学有很多,但最后只有孙修顺成为了拥有海景办公室的孙总,“1985年当船只靠岸时,我在新加坡虽只逗留一天,对岛国却有了深刻的印象,已经是新加坡公民的孙修顺望着新加坡海峡千舟相竞的图景对记者说

1992年,青岛远洋把他从海上调到陆地单位工作,他开始了另一番不同的职业经历,也有机会亲身参与航运业务的经营,学会如何揽货、开拓市场、联系港口和货主,速遣船舶等等,更深深体会到海运业的乐趣和辛苦,从此对海运事业一直乐此不彼

10年后的2002年,孙修顺勇敢跨出人生重要的一步,毅然辞去收入不错的国企工作,开创自己的事业。他在香港成立韦立航运,从最开始的航运经纪人做起,为货主提供航运服务,慢慢积累第一桶金

2006年孙修顺刚到新加坡的时候还没有自己的船,到目前为止,韦立自己拥有155万吨级以上的海岬型(Capesize)船舶。集团旗下控制的船舶平均为50艘,在印度尼西亚至中国资源运输航线,具有举足轻重的地位,承运的货种包括土矿、铁矿、镍矿、氧化铝、煤矿,以及建厂设备等,承运货量从2004年的300万公吨增至2012年的3000万公吨,增加10倍。集团的航线不但覆盖亚太地区,而且远达南美洲、非洲以及北美洲

       孙班长的成功秘诀

孙修顺除了作为老总很出名,他还是新加坡国立大学商学院亚太EMBA19班的孙班长。国大的学习让孙修顺更加明白创新的重要性。他认为,创新是每个公司在运营过程中必不可少的环节,是公司实现可持续发展的基础,创新来源于日常的观察与思考

在孙修顺的办公室里,摆放着一个他奉为圭臬的船用抓斗模型。2004年末,孙修顺与印尼发货人大胆提出从码头装货扩展到锚地装货的方式,避免船舶搁浅、装卸受限的问题,使印尼铝土矿的出口量大大增加,工作效率迅速提高,海运物流成本随之降低。经观察和研究,孙修顺决定另订制14个船用抓斗,从中国运到印尼装货锚地,从此租赁船舶的选择范围扩大,货运量也随之增加。通过探索和实践,孙修顺引进浮吊到锚地装货,改变传统装船工艺,大大提高装货效率,降低了海运成本,是公司经营过程中的一项重大突破

2008年金融海啸导致世界经济滑坡,直接影响了全球的货运量,中国航运业的运输需求萎缩,运价急剧下跌。中国国内众多收货人陆续停止了对铝矾土的进口,很多中小型航运公司纷纷卷款逃避,整个航运市场出现一片慌乱惨淡的景象

孙修顺审时度势,立即和印尼发货人组建共同联盟,在不收取海运费和货价的情况下,保持矿区最低限度生产,充分利用剩余运力,把铝土矿从印尼运到中国,在中国港口海关保税存货。一方面避免了运力的浪费与搁置,减少了货物在装货港的积压,另一方面把货物运到中国港口进行保税,为经济复苏做好积极准备。这一策略,让公司顺利躲避了经济风暴,没有遭受过多的经济损失,也提高了韦立集团在业内的知名度与信誉,并为日后的蓬勃发展奠定了坚实的基础

2007年是国际航运的黄金年代,2008年金融海啸则是场危机,国际贸易立即萎缩,货运船只供过于求,但危机中总是蕴藏着机会——远洋货轮的市场价格大幅下跌,有的从上亿美元跌到仅值两三千万,有的从五六千万美元跌到不足1000万美元。韦立国际的很多船舶都是孙修顺看准时机在2008年船价大跌之后抄底购入

除了个人的智慧和团队的共同努力外,孙修顺的成功其实也和新加坡分不开。他由衷地对记者感叹:地处国际航运优势地理位置的新加坡,拥有发展航运业得天独厚的地理条件,新加坡政府和行业组织大力支持航运企业,也为航运企业在此落地生根、发展壮大提供了优渥条件。韦立一路走来,顺风顺水,见证了新加坡确实是个发展航运业的风水宝地

20134月,新加坡海事及港务管理局授予韦立航运海运海事优惠计划-国际海运企业(MSI-AIS奖项。除了享有船舶运费等收入的免税优待外,韦立航运的表现和贡献也获得新加坡当局的特别认可。

Enter Africa from Singapore

Enter Africa from Singapore

 

“Welcome to invest into Guinea with funds, technologies, and most importantly, friendship!” said Alpha Condé, President of Guinea, with appreciation and admiration, and shook hands with Sun Xiushun, President of Winning International Group. President Alpha Condé just received the key from Sun Xiushun to the medical station constructed under the assistance of Winning. Nearly 3000 villagers from 190 villages singing and dancing under the scorching sun in Africa were extending their thanks to this Singapore-based entrepreneur in the utmost decorum. Sun Xiushun, a Chinese who has succeeded in Singapore, is exploring African bauxite resources. Starting by sea freight and travelling all over the world is the best portrayal of his life.

When the reporter met Sun Xiushun in his sea view office at Shenton Way, he just came back from the West Africa. The Shandong-born robust man slightly appeared tired due to the long flight of tens of thousands of kilometers, despite of which, the excitement in entrepreneurship overflowed from his words, “Although the transportation there is not convenient enough, Africa, indeed, is a land of treasure to be explored!” It is not an easy task for him to take a trip to Africa since there is not direct flight between Singapore and Guinea, which requires to take a connecting flight in Paris, consuming almost a whole day without any delay on the way. On top of that, due to the poor infrastructure facilities, no direct flights are arranged between any two African countries. As a result, one has to fly over the Africa continent for about a day even if one takes a direct flight from Singapore, as an intermediate stop, to an Africa country.

Create Miracles in Guinea

On March 2nd, 2018, the Winning Integrity, a vessel transporting the first batch of materials for constructing the Boké port in Guinea, was loaded at Yantai Port and successfully departed, marking that construction of the wharf within the port has begun. This project is jointly invested and established by Yantai Port Group Co., Ltd, Hongqiao Investment (Hong Kong) Limited, Winning Logistics Africa Co., and Societe Miniere de Boke (SMB), in which Winning takes 35% shares.

For this project, 2 bauxite berths and supporting belt-conveyor load line, and 1 heavy-lift berth are proposed, with a designed throughout capacity of 10 million tons/year. That is to say, in the next 3 years, about 30 million tons of bauxite will be transported to China by Winning fleet of ships through this port each year. “On the basis of this designed capacity, it is estimated that one vessel will be unloaded at Yantai Port every 10 days!” As Chinese No.1 port for bauxite import, Yantai Port witnessed a throughput of over 70 million tons in 2013 and a market share of over 68.5%.

 “It is about 15,000 kilometers from Guinea to Yantai Port by sea, why did you exploit and transport mines from so far a distance?” The reporter asked.

 “Because government of Indonesia began to restrict bauxite export last year, Yantai Port bauxite import in 2014 decreased sharply, but its market share continued to rise to 77.3%. To proactively respond to the export restriction from Indonesian government, Winning, Yantai Port and Weiqiao Pioneering Group jointly formed a consortium to prospect mines in Guinea, finding ores there are high in grade, shallowly buried, and near to an inland river that directly flows to the sea, which guarantees convenient transport”, said Sun Xiushun pointing at the large world map behind him, “Of course, we did not either lose Indonesian market. We have constructed two smelting plants in which bauxite are processed to semi-products and then from which delivered to China. “

Boké port construction is a critical step for the consortium to build a whole-process logistics chain and has developed at a high speed from the end of 2014. In November, 2014, the first batch of construction staff of consortium went to Guinea for early work such as measuring and prospection. During the 2015 Spring Festival, 8 among the staff stayed at their positions instead of going back for family reunion. On February 27th, 2015, the project’s advance team of 6 members flew to Guinea again. “We have a Chinese technical staff of 300 who work on the site day and night, with a salary three times of the amount they earned in China. On July 20th, Boké port use will be available with a basic and simple production condition!” explained Sun.

The Strategic plan of “One Belt, One Road” proposed by Chinese government creates an unprecedented development environment worldwide. By collaborating with partners based in China, I am convinced that Winning will play its advantages in sea freight, make desirable contribution and achieve certain value. And the African project is just a best embodiment in this regard. “.

As a Singapore-based business, Winning Group and the consortium participates in attach high importance to corporate social responsibility when exploiting African resources, and establish the relationship between enterprise and communities with a thinking model of “top-level design”. The port construction work will produce over 3000 work position for local youth, who are preferred during our recruitment. The Koutougouma medical station mentioned above is constructed with the assistance of Winning Alliance Ports SA (WAP), which granted 500,000 US dollars, occupies 450 square meters and includes two diagnostic rooms, one lab, one wards, one pharmacy, one break room, one delivery room, and a small trauma emergency room.

Sun Xiushun presented a proudness of working miracles. “We will construct a coal-fired power plant here and the coal will be delivered from Indonesia with our vessels. To meet the daily consumption needs of our staff, the return vessels will also carry living goods to Guinea, which will possibly turn this place into Yiwu of Africa.” With the great investment, Sun Xiushun has won the high appreciation from President of Guinean: “This has indeed created a truly first-class mining mode, which has never been seen in Guinea before!”

From A Seaman to President

Although he worked in sea shipping for only over ten years, Sun Xiushun has won the high recognition and appreciation in this community. “He is one of the few businessmen who can make such great achievements in so short a time!” was founded in Hong Kong to provide sea logistics for alumina producers to import materials. To be more close to Indonesian mining enterprises and build a bridge between Chinese and Indonesia companies, in 2016, it was moved to Singapore and began to provide comprehensive logistics solutions. In 2010, Winning International Group was formally established in Singapore and integrated Winning Shipping’s core businesses, such as ship chartering, ship owner, ship management, resource development and trading services, etc.

In 1980s, the 20-year-old Sun Xiushun who just graduated from the ship driving major of Nanjing Seaman Technical School, was distributed to serve Qingdao Ocean Shipping Co., Ltd. Since then, he worked on the sea for 8 years, which forged his strong will. Sun Xiushun did the best in all duties as a sailor. Among the schoolmates who worked as sailors after graduation, only Sun Xiushun became the general manager of a large group. “In 1985, when our ship drew alongside in Singapore, despite of the only one day for staying there, I was deeply impressed by this island country,” the Singapore citizen, Sun Xiushun said to the reporter while looking at the splendid view on Singapore Strait with a heavy traffic due to so many ships.

In 1992, Qingdao Ocean Shipping dispatched Sun Xiushun from sea to land department, which commenced a new phase of career for him and gave him the opportunities to get engaged in shipping operation, such as how to solicit cargo, how to expand market, how to contact ports and cargo owners, and how to dispatch ships, etc. Thus, he further experienced the joy and hardships accompanied with ocean shipping. Since then, he has resolved to be dedicate to this industry.

10 years later, that was 2012, Sun Xiushun boldly stepped onto an important stage of his life by resigning the well-paid job in this state-owned-enterprise and creating his own business. After founding Winning Shipping in Hong Kong, he provided freight services for cargo owners as a freight broker initially and gradually made his first fortune.

In 2006, when he just relocated to Singapore, Sun Xiushun owned no ship at all. However, Winning owns fifteen 50,000 ton or higher Capesize ships and controls 50 ships on average, having secured a critical position in the resource transportation shipping lines from Indonesia to China. The Group transports soil mineral, iron ores, nickel ores, alumina, coals and equipment for plant construction. Its carrying volume was increased from 3 million tons in 2004 to 30 million tons in 2012, with an increase of ten times. Shipping routes traveled through by the Group cover not only Asia-Pacific but also as far as South America, Africa and North America.

Class Monitor Sun’s Secret to Success

In addition to his reputation as a general manager of a group, Sun Xiushun is also the “class monitor Sun” of Asia-Pacific EMBA class 19 at NUS Business School. Through the learning experience at NUS, Sun Xiushun has further realized the importance of “innovation”. In his opinion, innovation is an essential element for each company’s operation and the foundation for sustainable development, and innovation comes from daily observations and thinking.

In Sun’s office, there lies a model of grab ship unloader which is treated by him as a kind of standard. At the end of 2004, Sun Xiushun made a bold proposal to Indonesian consignors to expand loading sites from docks to anchorages so as to avoid problems such as vessel grounding, loading and unloading limitation. This proposal has hugely increased Indonesian bauxite export, rapidly enhanced efficiency and lowered ocean shipping cost. Through observations and studies, Sun Xiushun decided to customize another 14 ship grab unloaders, which were transported from China to Indonesia’s anchorages for loading purpose. After that, his ship leasing scope was expanded and cargo volume increased. Through practices and trials, Sun Xiushun also introduced floating cranes to load cargos at anchorages and improved traditional loading process, which have tremendously increased loading efficiency and lowered ocean shipping cost.  This is an important breakthrough made in the Group’s course of operation.

The 2008 financial tsunami caused worldwide economic decline and directly affected global freight volume. In this context, China’s ocean shipping needs got shrunken, resulting in dramatic drop of shipping price. Many consignees in China stopped bauxite import and plenty of small and medium-sized shipping companies absconded with money one after another, leaving the shipping market in a depression.

After evaluating the international situation, Sun Xiushun immediately formed an alliance with Indonesian consignors, without collecting freight and cargo price, to keep the minimum production of mines and make full use of labors to transport bauxite to China, and store them in bonded area at China customs. On one hand, this action avoided the waste of transportation capacity and reduced cargo overstock at loading ports; On the other hand, placing cargos in bonded area made active preparation for later economic recovery. This strategy kept the company harmless from excessive economics loss caused by the economic crisis and also promoted Winning Group’s regulation and goodwill in the field, paving a sound foundation for the subsequent booming.

2007 was a gold year while 2008 was a crisis for international shipping industry. International trade was hit hard and supply of cargo vessels was severely greater than demand. But each crisis always expects opportunities coming. After the 2008 crisis, market price for ocean-going ships was collapsed, some from over 100 million US dollars to as low as 20 million, or over 50 million US dollars to less than 10 million. Many ships owned by Winning International now were purchased at that time at extremely low prices.

Besides personal wisdom and the team’s efforts, Sun Xiushun’s success owed to this piece of land – Singapore. He told the reporter with earnest, “The advantageous geographical location bestows Singapore with natural competitiveness and the great supports from local government and industrial associations also provide fertile soils for the creation and development of shipping businesses. The past years experienced by Winning witnessed that this is indeed a golden place for developing shipping business.”

In April, 2013, Winning received MSI-AIS award from the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore. Along with the tax reduction and exemption on freight fees, good performance and excellent contribution made by Winning has also won the special recognition of Singapore authorities.

(Retrived from Fortune Times, reported by Lang Jia)